Health & Social Care


Applied General Qualfication - Extended Certificate

Equivalent to 1 A Level

Students apply learning through a range of practical assessments.  BTEC Nationals use a combination of assessment styles to give you confidence that you can apply your knowledge to succeed in the workplace AND have the study skills to continue learning on higher education courses and throughout your career.

Assignments - set and marked by teachers; verified by Pearson. Still the main form of assessment for all BTEC Nationals.

Tasks - Provide students with work-based challenges in timed, realistic work conditions.

Written exams - Students create written answers to practical questions in exam conditions.


To give a broad overview of the Health and Social Care sector, forming part of the programme of study including other courses e.g BTEC National or A Levels


Further study at Level 3, higher education or training in Health and Social Care or a related sector.

The qualification is made up of 4 units - 3 mandatory units and 1 optional unit.

3 Mandatory Units:

  1. Human Lifespan Development (90 GLH)
  2. Working in Health and Social Care (120 GLH)
  3. Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs (90 GLH)

1 Optional Unit from:

  1. Work experience in Health and Social Care
  2. Sociological perspectives
  3. Psychological perspective
  4. Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs
  5. Physiological Disorders and their Care



Throughout the course, you will be given the opportunity to visit a range of health and social care settings and interact with experts from different health and social care providers.




For further details, please contact Mrs Walmsley.

All current plans for sixth form programmes of study at Bishop Stopford School are provisional, dependent on student numbers and government policy.