History of the School

Our school dates back to 1535, when the rector of St Peter and St Paul directed one of his curates to "instruct boys of the parish".  The Church of England went on to establish four more schools in Kettering including the parochial school which was opened in 1819 in the Horsemarket.

This previous school survived until 1965 when a purpose-built Secondary Modern institution was opened on the Headlands as a much needed replacement. The late Robert Stopford, who was Bishop of Peterborough at the time, agreed to the new school being named after him. Bishop Stopford School quickly established itself, soon introduced a Sixth Form and eventually admitted its first full comprehensive intake in 1976. It has been oversubscribed almost ever since. The School has alos benefited from an exptensive programme of new buildings and refurbishment over the years to meet the demands of modern-day students and a changing curriculum.

The number-on-roll has more than doubled since 1965 to approximately 1450 students, with a Sixth Form of over 350. Exam results tend to be well above country and national averages. The School which converted to Academy Status in August 2011, today, is a large, forward-thinking and high-achieving organisation with a unique heritage and distinctive identity. our Common Purpose remains as ever - 'To provide high quality education with a strong Christian ethos'.